Rules, Rules, Rules

Published 8 October, 2012 by ladyem83

Whether consciously or not,  I’ve always adhered to a set of rules which I’ve imposed on myself.   I touched on this briefly in my post, ‘Breaking The Routine and Going With The Flow, however, over the last year and particularly when I fell into Ana’s tight grip, I have added to these rules and become imprisoned by them.  Abiding by them has become such an engrained part of my life that departing from them, or even bending them, causes me so much inner torment and confusion.

My CPN asked me to consider the rules which I live by and the effect they have on my life.  So here’s my Rule Book.  I need to see it in black and white.  I need to consider the true worth of each rule.

Rule #1 – I must always be active.  Being still is lazy and indulgent.

Rule #2 – I must make sure that those around me are happy. I must look after them.

Rule # 3 – I must be ensure that everything I do is to my standard of ‘perfection’.  ‘That’ll do’, isn’t acceptable.  Nothing is ever totally right, I need always to learn how to better what I do.  I cannot settle for anything less.

Rule # 4 – I cannot treat myself unless I have done something to deserve it.

Rule#5 – I must achieve the goals I set myself.

Rule #6 – I must please others.

Rule #7 – I define myself by the goals that I achieve.

Rule#8 – I must adhere to every plan that I set ahead of myself.

Some of these rules have been engrained in me since I was young, others have developed latterly and others I have taken to extreme lengths only recently as depression and anorexia took over.

I don’t doubt that there are also numerous other rules  to which I unconsciously adhere.

These rules gave me a sense of security.  When I was younger I had no self-confidence, so ensuring that I got full marks on each test, passed my exams, got a good career meant that I was worth something.  It gave me a means against which to measure myself and my value.

When I qualified as a solicitor, those regular benchmarks disappeared and I felt lost.  I had nothing against which I could measure myself; so I started to loose my self-confidence and my self-esteem.

As this happened my fixation on the other rules grew.  If a test couldn’t tell me how good I am then I needed to go into overdrive in all other areas of my life.  I needed to ensure that I was the best person I could be for other people.  Whether it was friendships or relationships, it was those other people who mattered more than I did.  I lost my identity by trying to be the person I thought other people wanted me to be.  This manifested itself not only in my behaviour but even the way I dressed changed.

My Rule Book engulfed me.

So now it’s time to re-write the Rule Book.  In fact, let’s throw it out!  I don’t want my life to be governed by rules.  I want to govern my life.   Of course, this doesn’t mean that I will lower my standards.  I believe in being the best I can be.  I believe in learning and growing.  I believe in being a loyal and supportive daughter, sister and friend.  These are my values.  Values are important; they help to define a person’s character.

How could I ever  fully experience my life, and thereby become the rounded person I want to be, if I am forbidden from stepping outside of certain fixed parameters?

As long as I remain true to my values then I don’t need rules to govern my every action and thought.  I can explore, learn, try, fail, succeed…live!

I don’t expect that I will be able to throw the Rule Book out today but I’ll close it and put it on the shelf.  The only question I need to ask myself is whether I’m being true to what I believe in.  If the answer is yes, then I’m free to do it!

Do you have a Rule Book?  

2 comments on “Rules, Rules, Rules

  • my rule book is mostly gone now, it was full of rules to make me do what I thought society wanted me to do. I’ve recently discovered my core values, and am working on following them instead.

    🙂

  • Feel free to comment here.

    Solitude, Reading and Tea

    Lovingly updated by an odd History-loving bookworm

    Healthy is happy.

    Fighting anorexia for my life back.

    A day at a time

    "A journey of a thousand miles, begins with a single step"

    drfullerstherapytips

    Therapy Tips to Self Improve & Feel Better About Your Life

    Balancing the Fs

    my journey to balance Food Fitness Fun and Finances

    Make-Up & Mirtazapine

    The crazy girl's guide to life...

    The life of a Daddy with mental illness.

    Being a Dad is hard. Being a Dad with mental illness is even harder. This is my life laid bare for you all to read.

    Nut Job is my middle name

    "Life isn't about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself"

    Individual Thought Patterns

    A Single Mum's Journey to Medical School

    natpopsponders

    The ponderings of Natpops

    eatingasapathtoyoga

    Savoring yoga & intuitive eating. Come join the journey.

    Baking as Therapy

    Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

    Natpops Mental Health Blog

    A WordPress.com site

    Just Me, Nobody Else

    I write what I feel....however it will not always make pleasant reading!!! Take away what you want and leave the rest!

    Lisa's Dreams

    Where little dreams turn big

    Living with Lightness

    Holistic Health Coaching ~ Nourishing Yourself Inside & Out

    Who Would Have Thought The Tiny Courageous?

    Thoughts from the mind of a tiny man waging an unseen war.

    The Dawn Report

    Dawn O'Porter

